You may have seen many panicked posts going around Facebook lately that the social network giant was publishing all your mobile phone numbers for other uses to see.
Posts read something like this:
ALL THE PHONE NUMBERS from your phone are now on Facebook! Go to the top right of the screen, go to ACCOUNT, go to EDIT FRIENDS, left side click CONTACTS. You will see all your phone numbers (FB friends or not) are published that you have stored in your mobile phone. TO REMOVE, go to the right column, click on “this page.” And then click “Remove” Please repost this on your status, so your friends can remove their numbers and thus prevent abuse if they do not want them published.
However, Facebook has responded letting users know that numbers are NOT being published publically to the site. The feature is automatically installed when users synch their mobile smart phones with Facebook.
A response by Facebook published August 10th says:
Rumors claiming that your phone contacts are visible to everyone on Facebook are false. Our Contacts list, formerly called Phonebook, has existed for a long time. The phone numbers listed there were either added by your friends themselves and made visible to you, or you have previously synced your phone contacts with Facebook. Just like on your phone, only you can see these numbers.